top of page

GRACE





GRACE

Written by: Ebenezer Chiang & Lim Enn



'Twas before my infant body

took its first unworthy breath

That the plague within had marked me

for a grim eventual death.

Every human in this wasteland

has to bear this heavy curse

As our flesh devours itself

no other illness could be worse.

But the myths speak of a country where the sickness can be healed,

But the only way to get there was the wasteland's one airfield.

But the common knowledge is that life is too good to be true.

Still I set off through the desert with my body black and blue.

To the aerodrome of life I hurried hastily with heft;

And I noticed just a single airplane on the strip was left;

So I searched, and saw a sign that said the reason for this lack;

"All our planes have left for safety and will soon be coming back."

Then, I jumped aboard the airplane and I found one vacant chair;

I was grabbed and told that I first had to pay the ticket fare.

In this country, planes were scarce, and so the ticket's price was high.

I began to give up hope: no funds, no, not one cent had I.

But I did not yield; my fear of dying from the plague was strong.

But they said that planes were coming back- that I would not wait long.

But I had no chance of ever paying for that costly seat.

Still became my soul, as I gave in to hopelessness and grief.

I submitted to the throes of the disease's heavy hand

And accepted that I never could have fled that cursed land.

Then I saw the heavens open; I beheld a sight absurd!

'Twas a ticket with a note attached; on it was just one word.





VIdeo produced by: LJ Cinematics & Innovative Times


Distributed by: Innovative Times & Intriguing Analysis




54 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • White Instagram Icon
bottom of page