top of page

Serving Military Service as a High School Homeschooler?

Updated: Jul 12, 2020



Serving Military Service as a High School Homeschooler?

EDITOR/LIM JINN

Have you ever wondered what it is like to serve in the military while homeschooling in High School? In Singapore, all male Singaporean citizens are required to serve a period of compulsory national service (NS) in the uniformed services.  Upon enlistment, male Singaporean citizens serve for two years of active duty as full-time national servicemen (NSFs) in either the Singapore Armed Forces, Singapore Police Force, or Singapore Civil Defense Force.  The Innovative Times has managed to secure an interview with a Singaporean homeschooler currently serving his National Service in the Singapore Armed Forces. We sat down with Ebenezer Chiang and talked about his unique experience as a homeschooled high school senior serving NS.  Ebenezer is currently a Singaporean writer on The Innovative Times. He is serving his full-time National Service (NS), while studying for the SAT exams. He will be answering some questions about his NS experience as a homeschooler. How did you prepare for NS without NAPFA? (In Singapore, there is a National Physical Fitness Award/Assessment (NAPFA) scheme for Singaporeans in public school. It serves as a test of physical fitness for public school students in Singapore and as a standardized assessment of overall fitness for the general population. However, homeschooled students in Singapore are not required to participate in this.)       My main worry was passing the pre-enlistment fitness test, which nowadays only consists of push-ups, sit-ups, and a 2.4km run. In the months before enlistment, I made sure to practice those specific exercises. I passed the test.      Throughout my life, I've also tried out a few sports with neighbors, family members, and fellow homeschoolers.      To prepare mentally, I had a few chats with friends to hear their NS experiences. As a Christian, how was it like to prepare for the transition period into NS?      Being the sheltered kid I am, the friends I spoke with were all Christians who shared how NS affected them as Christians. My church also organizes a sharing session every two years to help pre-enlistees know what to expect in NS.  Was there a culture shock?      Yeah, the change from civilian life to military life is huge, but the army nowadays puts effort into making basic military training a positive experience. In a way, I'm fortunate to enlist at a time that the armed forces are extremely safety-conscious. How has the NS environment changed for you as you continue to be in NS?      It's gotten better. Treatment generally improves the longer you serve. I've also gotten to grow closer to the friends I work with. What are the good things about NS?      Being separated from the normal world can give a feeling of freedom that is difficult to find at home (as long as the commanders leave you alone). The regimented military lifestyle also gives a sense of purpose and direction, and a kind of certainty in life.   But the best part of NS is the friendship. I grew close with the people I work with, and I've even been able to share about my faith a couple of times. What is a major lesson that you have learned from NS?      Just do it. Don't procrastinate or make excuses. I'm still learning that lesson. What do you wish you had learned before enlisting?      Professionalism. Personally, it's not easy for me to take things seriously, and it took NS to help me to prioritize and do my best in the tasks that I'm given. Describe the drastic experience change between homeschooling and NS.      Practically everything, to be honest- the amount of social interaction, the enforcement of rules, the work... How did you manage high school while in NS?       After the first couple months, I started finding time to study. On some days, I really have plenty of time, and I'm thankful for the opportunity. It takes a lot of commitment, how did you find that motivation to do it?      Most of my army friends are JC kids, so I tell myself that if they could study hard, surely I can study at least a little in my free time. Might as well "just do it”. You mentioned that you are trying to direct your fellow buddies to Christ! How are you doing that?      To be honest, I'm not really trying. The topic of religion just pops up in our conversations sometimes, and I just chime in. It helps that there are two other Christians in my platoon that I can hide behind. All in all, what is one major takeaway you can say has brought you growth throughout this whole NS experience?      I'm quite a shy dude, but NS has made me more confident to speak to others and to own up to my mistakes. The friendships I've made and the culture of openness in the army make it easy for me to speak my mind without fear.

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

GRACE

  • White Instagram Icon
bottom of page